Uruan LG Chairmanship: Stakeholders insist on equity

In what appears a move to set records straight and avoid any future political infraction, stakeholders in Uruan Local Government Area have given a breakdown of chairmanship and House of Assembly positions from 1999 up until date, as well as the political zones which make up the area.

According to a release made available to newsmen, the local government has two major political blocks, which are: the Northern and Central Blocks with five wards and the Southern Uruan Block which has six wards.

The release further showed that the blocks are sub-divided into four Geo-Political Zones which include; Northern Uruan Zone, Central Uruan Zone, South-South Uruan Zone and South-East Uruan Zone.
The statement revealed that the positions of the chairman of the council and House of Assembly member which are considered key by the people of the area have never fallen short of the long standing zoning arrangements instituted to bring about equitable distribution of all the offices in local government area.

It noted that at no time had the two cardinal positions been left in one zone, warning any individual or group who may want to alter the arrangement as a result of some personal political interest to desist from such divisive moves.

The release reads in part:“ in the course of sharing the two major political offices of the council chairman and House of Assembly, these major zoning arrangements are put into consideration. In the above practice, at no time had the two offices been left in one political zone or block”.

The statement further revealed that Hon. Barr Nyong Etim Udo from the Northern and Central Block took the position of the chairmanship in 1999, while Hon. Asuquo Nyong Essien from the Southern Block was a member in the Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly till 2023.

The release stated that from 2003 to 2011, the north central zone took their turn on the position of the State Assembly through Rt. Hon. Usenobong Akpabio and the position of the chairman remained in the Southern block for the said period which produced two chairmen in the person of Hon. Roberta Nyong and Dr Eventus Edem.

In 2011 till date the southern zone is keeping the position of the State House of Assembly through Hon Kufre Etuk and the speaker Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly Rt. Hon Aniekan Etim Bassey while the Northern central zone had the chairman’s position through Mr. Tony Akan and the current chairman whose tenure ends November this year.

Therefore the chairmanship position must remain in the north central zone to balance the three terms of the State Assembly of the southern zone which will end in 2023

Accordingly, the Northern and Central Uruan blocks which represent one unit are to maintain chairmanship position till 2023 after which the position of the Assembly member shall move to Northern and Central Uruan. The office of the chairman shall, by the arrangement, move to Southern Uruan block.
The statement, therefore, advise those intending to seek for political positions in the local government area to maintain the status quo ante in order not to berth any unnecessary political tempest in the area.

Recommended For You

About the Author: Tom

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.